Polytechnics Canada Welcomes Announcement of new Student Work-Integrated Learning Program (SWILP)

Don't leave the skilled trades out of Canada's innovation conversation

August 28, 2017 – Ottawa – The new federal Student Work-Integrated Learning Program (SWILP), announced today in Toronto by the Honourable Patty Hajdu, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour, will ensure Canadian post-secondary students are better positioned to secure meaningful employment in their chosen fields of study by providing access to high-quality work experiences while in study.

Experiential learning is foundational to polytechnic education.  Each of the members of Polytechnics Canada are leading providers of work-integrated learning (WIL).  Canada’s polytechnics are committed to growing WIL opportunities for their students, and for their employer partners, who benefit from access to the highly skilled talent polytechnics produce. 

Polytechnic education is applied, technical, and technological training. “Polytechnics Canada welcomes SWILP’s focus on high-demand occupations within the fields of science, technology, engineering, math, and business (STEM+B). We applaud the program’s inclusive design that ensures the highly skilled polytechnic talent is available to Canadian employers in vitally important industry sectors,” said Polytechnics Canada Chief Executive Officer, Nobina Robinson.   

Polytechnics Canada was proud to support the Information Technology Association of Canada’s (ITAC) application to SWILP through its “Career Ready” program, which has formed a consortium that includes Polytechnics Canada members, Sheridan and Seneca.  We are excited about the opportunities this program will provide to our students pursuing work in the fields of Business Technology Management and Computer Engineering and Science.  

New WIL opportunities will also flow to highly skilled students across our membership, through funding that has been provided to the Canadian Council of Aviation and Aerospace, Information and Communications Technology Council, Environmental Careers Organization Canada and Bio Talent Canada. 

Located in Canada’s key economic regions, the 13 members of Polytechnics Canada are: British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT), Kwantlen Polytechnic University (KPU), Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (NAIT), SAIT, Saskatchewan Polytechnic, Red River College, Fanshawe, Conestoga, Sheridan, Humber, George Brown, Seneca, and Algonquin Colleges.

- 30

For more information, please contact:                                                                                                   
Frank Tersigni, Communications Coordinator                                                              
Polytechnics Canada                                                                                                          
Tel: 613-656-1538                                                          
Email: ftersigni@polytechnicscanada.ca

Media Tags: